PEN/Malamud Award

Malamud Photo

About the Award

The PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in Short Fiction was established by Bernard Malamud’s family to honor excellence in the art of short fiction. The basis of the award fund was a gift from the Malamud family. The fund continues to grow through the generosity of friends, supporters, and Reading Series subscribers. The readings and the fund are administered by the PEN/Faulkner Foundation. A panel of PEN/Faulkner directors forms the selection committee for the awards.

About Bernard Malamud

“I like packaging a self or two in a few pages, predicting lifetimes. The drama is terse, happens faster, and is often outlandish. A short story is a way of indicating the complexity of life in a few pages, producing the surprise and effect of a profound knowledge in a short time.”
– Bernard Malamud (1914–1986)

During his 37-year writing career, Bernard Malamud received the National Book Award twice, as well as the Pulitzer Prize, and the Gold Medal for lifetime achievement from the National Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. His published works include: The NaturalThe Magic BarrelThe Fixer, and The Stories of Bernard Malamud.

About This Year’s Winner

On December 4th, 2015, we will honor Deborah Eisenberg with the 27th PEN/Malamud Award. Tickets are available for $25 here.

Deborah Eisenberg is the author most recently of The Collected Stories of Deborah Eisenberg, which contains the works published in her four short story collections: Transactions in a Foreign CurrencyUnder the 82nd AirborneAll Around Atlantis, and Twilight of the Superheroes. She has received a MacArthur Fellowship, a Whiting Writers’ Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and a Lannan Literary Fellowship, among many other honors and awards. She is the 2011 recipient of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, making her the fourth writer to have won both the PEN/Faulkner and PEN/Malamud Awards. She teaches at Columbia University.

Past PEN/Malamud Award Winners

Click here to see a list of past PEN/Malamud award winners, including George Saunders, James Salter, Joyce Carol Oates, Edward P. Jones, Nam Le, Grace Paley, John Updike and many others.