Episode 32 – 2014 PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony

collage with logo


Episode 32 features the 34th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony & Reading, which was held at the Folger Shakespeare Library here in Washington, DC on May 10th, 2014.

The winner of this year’s award was Karen Joy Fowler for her novel We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, and the four finalists for the prize were: Daniel Alarcón for his novel At Night We Walk in Circles; Percival Everett for his novel Percival Everett by Virgil Russell; Joan Silber for her collection of short stories Fools; Valerie Trueblood for her collection of short stories Search Party: Stories of Rescue.

All five of the authors joined us at the Folger for the ceremony and reading, and they were joined onstage by this year’s judges, Achy Obejas, Manuel Muñoz, and Madison Smartt Bell, who you’ll hear read their citations for each finalist and the winner.

The event opened with remarks by Frazier O’Leary, president of PEN/Faulkner’s Board of Directors, Emma Snyder, our Executive Director. The Master of Ceremonies for the event was PBS’s Jeffrey Brown.


Subscribe to the Podcast in iTunes.

Leave a Reply