Episode 46 – 2015 PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony

The PEN/Faulkner Foundation holds it's annual awards program at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, DC on Saturday, May 2, 2015.   (James R. Brantley)

Episode 46 features the 35th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony & Reading, which was held at the Folger Shakespeare Library here in Washington, DC on May 2nd, 2015.

The winner of this year’s award was Atticus Lish for his novel Preparation for the Next Life, and the four finalists for the prize were:

Jeffery Renard Allen for his novel Song of the Shank 

Jennifer Clement for her novel Prayers for the Stolen 

Emily St. John Mandel for her novel Station Eleven 

Jenny Offill for her novel Dept. of Speculation

All five of the authors joined us at the Folger for the ceremony and reading, and they were joined onstage by this year’s judges, Alexander Chee, Marc Fitten, and Deirdre McNamer, who you’ll hear read their citations for each finalist and the winner.

The event opened with remarks by Frazier O’Leary, president of PEN/Faulkner’s Board of Directors, and Emma Snyder, our Executive Director. The Master of Ceremonies for the event was B.J. Novak.



Subscribe to the podcast in iTunes.

Take our podcast survey.


Thank you to Benedict Kupstas and Field Guides for donating the music used in this episode. Listen here to Field Guides’ album Boo, Forever.

Leave a Reply