We’re proud to announce the five finalists for the 2012 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction, America’s largest peer-juried prize for fiction:

  • Russell Banks for Lost Memory of Skin
  • Don DeLillo for The Angel Esmeralda: Nine Stories 
  • Anita Desai for The Artist of Disappearance
  • Steven Millhauser for We Others: New and Selected Stories
  • Julie Otsuka for The Buddha in the Attic 

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction is a national prize that honors outstanding works of fiction by American writers each year. Three judges, chosen annually by the directors of the PEN/Faulkner Foundation, select five books from among the more than 300 submitted works, making this the largest peer-juried award in the country. This year’s judges were Marita Golden, Maureen Howard, and Steve Yarbrough.

The winner, who will receive $15,000, will be announced on March 26th. The four finalists will receive $5,000 each.

Click here for more information about the finalists and to read our press release. Click here for more information about the 2012 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction Ceremony, held at the Folger Shakespeare Library on May 5, 2012.