Our Awards

Celebrating great literary achievements has lived at the heart of our organization since its founding in 1980, when Mary Lee Settle established the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction: the only major literary award given BY fiction writers TO fiction writers. In more than four decades since, we have expanded our effort to call the world’s attention to noteworthy literary artistry and advocacy, adding the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Short Story and the PEN/Faulkner Literary Champion to our roster of annual recognitions.

The PEN/Faulkner Award

National Prize for Fiction

The most prestigious annual peer-juried literary prize in America, honoring the best published works of fiction by American permanent residents in a calendar year.


The PEN/Malamud Award

for Excellence in the Short Story

Established by Bernard Malamud’s family, the award is presented to writers who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in the short story form.


The PEN/Faulkner Literary Champion

A commendation presented in recognition of devoted literary advocacy and a commitment to inspiring new generations of readers and writers.


Join Our Mailing List

To make sure you never miss out on one of PEN/Faulkner’s inspiring literary programs and award celebrations, sign up for our email list.