Benjamin Alire Sáenz The PEN/Faulkner Foundation is pleased to announce that author Benjamin Alire Sáenz has been selected as the winner of the 2013 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for his collection of short fiction Everything Begins and Ends at the Kentucky Club, which was published by Cinco Puntos Press. The judges—Walter KirnNelly Rosario, and A.J. Verdelle—considered more than 350 novels and short story collections by American authors published in the U.S. during the 2012 calendar year. Finalists for this year’s award include Amelia Gray for her novel Threats (Farrar, Straus, Giroux); Laird Hunt, author of Kind One (Coffee House Press); T. Geronimo Johnson, author of Hold it ‘Til It Hurts (Coffee House Press); and Thomas Mallon, author of Watergate (Pantheon). 

This year’s winner and finalists will read at the 33rd Annual PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony & Dinner on Saturday, May 4th at 7 p.m. at the Folger Shakespeare Library. The event is open to the public, and tickets can be purchased here.

For more information about this year’s winner and finalists as well as information about the award ceremony, please visit our Award for Fiction page