An Event to Remember for Contemporary Fiction Lovers

Our 42nd Annual PEN/Faulkner Award Celebration on May 2, 2022 will honor this year’s distinguished books and authors. This exquisite literary evening will feature presentations by our judges; original readings by our winner and four finalists; and an appearance by Oprah Winfrey, our 2022 PEN/Faulkner Literary Champion.


Nawaaz Ahmed, Finalist
Rabih Alameddine, Finalist
Carolina de Robertis, Finalist
Carolyn Ferrell, Finalist
Imbolo Mbue, Finalist

Oprah Winfrey, Literary Champion


Eugenia Kim, 2022 Judge
Rebecca Makkai, 2022 Judge
Rion Amilcar Scott, 2022 Judge


Mary & Robert Haft
Katherine Boone & Joshua Geltzer


Literary Lions
Katherine & David Bradley
Wm. Randall Cone
Katherine & Andrew Stephen

Kay Kendall & Jack Davies
Elizabeth & Michael Galvin
Kate Britton Giaimo & Robert Giaimo
Tracy & Greg McGillivary
Katharine Weymouth

Wendy Benchley & John Jeppson
Susan Coll & Paul Goldberg
Ecco Press
Judy Scott Feldman
Renée & Stephen Gardner
Sophia McCrocklin & William Isaacson
Willee & Finlay Lewis
Macmillan Publishers
Louisa & William Newlin
Maureen Orth
Politics & Prose
Joan Simmons

Lou Bayard
Warren & Amy Belasco
Melinda Buntin
Counterpoint Press
Linda Fisher
Grove Atlantic
John & Meg Hauge
Ingram Content Group
Malcolm & Virginia O’Hagan
Dolen Perkins-Valdez
Penguin Random House
Nancy & Simon Sidamon-Eristoff
Jane Evans Ramsay
Deborah Tannen
Emily & Antoine van Agtmael
Jung Yun


Maureen Corrigan, Master of Ceremonies
Jessica Hansen, Narration
Really Useful Media, Event Production

2022 Winner of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

“I am beyond excited for receiving this great award. I wish to thank all involved, the PEN/Faulkner board, the judges. This is such an honor. No writer can look at the list of books that have won the PEN/Faulkner Award and not be humbled and honored to have their book listed among them.”
– Rabih Alameddine, Author of The Wrong End of the Telescope

Our 2022 PEN/Faulkner Award Winner and Finalists

The Book of Goose

The Book of Goose

2023 PEN/Faulkner Award WinnerYiyun Li is the author of several works of fiction—Must I Go, Where Reasons End, Kinder Than Solitude, A Thousand Years of Good Prayers, The Vagrants, and Gold Boy, Emerald Girl—and the memoir Dear Friend, from My Life I Write to You in...

If I Survive You

If I Survive You

2023 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction FinalistJonathan Escoffery is the recipient of the 2020 Plimpton Prize for Fiction, a 2020 National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship, and the 2020 ASME Award for Fiction. His fiction has appeared in The Paris Review,...

Sweet, Soft, Plenty Rhythm

Sweet, Soft, Plenty Rhythm

2023 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction FinalistLaura Warrell is a contributor to the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference and the Tin House Writers’ Workshop, and is a graduate of the creative writing program at Vermont College of Fine Arts. Her work has appeared in HuffPost,...

The Islands

The Islands

2023 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction FinalistDionne Irving is originally from Toronto, Ontario. She is the author of THE ISLANDS (Catapult) and QUINT (7.13 Books)  She currently teaches in the Creative Writing Program and the Initiative on Race and Resilience at the...

Fruiting Bodies

Fruiting Bodies

2023 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction FinalistKathryn Harlan received an MFA from the University of Wisconsin–Madison, where she now teaches writing. She was the recipient of the 2019 August Derleth Graduate Creative Writing Prize. Her work has appeared in the...


Oprah Winfrey

Oprah Winfrey is a global media leader, producer, actress and a dedicated philanthropist. She has created an unparalleled connection with people around the world, making her one of the most respected and admired figures today. For over 25 years, Oprah’s Book Club has featured emerging and acclaimed voices in the literary world with over 90 selections to a worldwide community of readers.

Learn more about Oprah.


Maureen Corrigan

Maureen Corrigan, book critic for NPR’s Fresh Air, is The Nicky and Jamie Grant Distinguished Professor of the Practice in Literary Criticism at Georgetown University. She is an associate editor of and contributor to Mystery and Suspense Writers (Scribner) and the winner of the 1999 Edgar Award for Criticism, presented by the Mystery Writers of America. In 2019, Corrigan was awarded the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing by the National Book Critics Circle.

Corrigan’s literary memoir, Leave Me Alone, I’m Reading! was published in 2005. Corrigan is also a reviewer and columnist for The Washington Post‘s Book World. In addition to serving on the advisory panel of The American Heritage Dictionary, she has chaired the Mystery and Suspense judges’ panel of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.

Ron Charles

Your Support Matters

Your support makes our programs possible. Please consider a contribution. Thank you.


Make a secure, tax-deductible gift online

GIVE by Mail

PEN/Faulkner Foundation
6218 Georgia Avenue NW
Unit #1062
Washington, DC 20011

GIVE by phone

(202) 898-9063

GIVE by Text

to 44321