35th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

PEN/Faulkner LogoThe 35th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction
Ceremony & Dinner

Saturday, May 2nd, 2015
7:00 PM

Tickets: $100 (buy)

Reserved tables of 10 can also be purchased for $1,500 by calling the Folger Box Office at: (202) 544-7077.

Folger Shakespeare Library – Elizabethan Theatre
201 East Capitol Street SE
Washington, DC 20003 


Celebrating the winner as “first among equals,” the 35th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony will take place at the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, May 2, 2015 at 7 pm. The event will be hosted by B.J. Novak and will feature the judges’ citations for each finalist’s book, the conferral of the PEN/Faulkner Award, and a reading by each author. The Award Ceremony & Reading will be followed by a buffet dinner held in the Old Reading Room of the Folger Shakespeare Library.

The PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony & Dinner is open to the public. Tickets for the 2015 PEN/Faulkner Award Ceremony & Dinner are $100.

More information, including a list of past winners and finalists of the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction can be found on our Award for Fiction page.

2014 PEN/Malamud Celebration:
Edward P. Jones, Lorrie Moore, and Tobias Wolff

The Legacy of Bernard Malamud: Celebrating Excellence in the Short Story

In celebration of what would have been American master Bernard Malamud’s 100th year, the PEN/Faulkner Foundation and the Malamud Family will host previous recipients of the PEN/Malamud Award for Excellence in the Art of the Short Story in a celebratory evening of readings in Malamud’s honor. Participating authors include Edward P. Jones, Lorrie Moore, and Tobias Wolff.

Friday, December 5, 2014
7:30 PM

Folger Shakespeare Library – Elizabethan Theatre
201 East Capitol Street SE
Washington, DC 20003 (map)


Edward_P_Jones_SQ Edward P. Jones is the author of the story collections Lost in the City and All Aunt Hagar’s Children and the novel The Known World. Among other honors, he has received the Pulitzer Prize for fiction, the National Book Critics Circle award, and a MacArthur Fellowship. He lives in Washington, D.C.

“Now there can be no doubt about it: Edward P. Jones belongs in the first rank of American letters.”

— Jonathan Yardley, The Washington Post 

Purchase books by Edward P. Jones.

Author Lorrie Moore.  Photo by Linda Nylind.  30/5/2008Lorrie Moore is a novelist and story writer whose works include Birds of America, A Gate at the Stairs, and Bark. Among her honors and awards are a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Lannan Foundation fellowship, and the Rea Award. She teaches creative writing at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee.

“Reading the luminous stories in Lorrie Moore’s collection is like spending another insanely perfect afternoon with your smartest, most acerbic, tough-minded but loving and loyal friend.”

— Victoria Redel, MORE Magazine

Purchase books by Lorrie Moore.




Tobias Wolff is the author of the story collections Back in the World and The Night in Question and of the novel Old School, among other works. He has received the Rea Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and the PEN/Faulkner Award. He lives in Northern California and teaches at Stanford University.

“Tobias Wolff possesses something like the emotional equivalent of perfect pitch, moving through a staggering repertoire of tones – from comic and sexy to wistful and despairing – often within a single page.”

— Olivia Laing, The Guardian

Purchase books by Tobias Wolff.